Attention small business who do their payroll! For more information and FAQs directly from the Virginia DOLI website, click HERE.
- Effective May 1, 2021, minimum wage in Virginia will go from $7.25 per hour to $9.50 per hour.
- Effective January 1, 2022, the hourly minimum wage in Virginia will increase to $11 an hour.
- Effective January 1, 2023, the hourly minimum wage in Virginia will increase to $12 an hour.
- There are more proposed increases contingent upon future recommendations by appointed committees.
- Employers will need to update their employment law posters for employees as of May 1st as well.
For clarification on any questions:
- The minimum wage is the lowest amount you can pay an employee per hour of work. You can pay more than the minimum wage if you’d like to, but you cannot pay less than the minimum wage.
- The federal government sets a standard minimum wage that applies to all employees in the United States. However, states and localities can set their own minimum wage rates, too.
- The federal minimum wage is regulated by the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) and enforced by the U.S. Department of Labor. The current federal minimum wage is $7.25 per hour.
- When it comes to choosing between federal, state, and local minimum wage law, always pay your employees the highest rate.
- In Virginia, The VIRGINIA DEPARTMENT OF LABOR AND INDUSTRY DIVISION OF LABOR AND EMPLOYMENT LAW will be the agency enforcing these regulations.